Cy Young Award odds: deGrom, Cole favorites

There have been relievers to win the Cy Young Award in the American or National League with just a handful of victories. The last reliever to win the Cy Young was the Los Angeles Dodgers’ Eric Gagne in 2003 as he finished 2-3 but with 55 saves.

Odds courtesy of

With the 2020 Major League Baseball season obviously going to be severely shortened due to the coronavirus, it’s almost tough to project what the Cy Young winner’s resume in each league might look like. In the National League, New York Mets starting pitcher Jacob deGrom won it last year with just 11 wins and the year before with only 10.

Will deGrom even get 20 starts this entire season? To double-digit wins? He is the +325 favorite to threepeat in the NL. Twenty-one pitchers have won the Cy Young Award multiple times over both leagues but only 10 have won it at least three times as deGrom looks to join that exclusive club. The lone two pitchers to win it three straight years were Hall of Famers Randy Johnson (1999-2002) and Greg Maddux (1992-95), who each did it four in a row.

Full credit to Please read more here.

The Daily Payoff
Authored by: The Daily Payoff
Website: Tanner Simkins

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *